Nomenclature of the Fc receptors

C. L. Anderson, B. Baird, A. Capron, D. H. Conrad, G. Delespesse, W. Friedman, R. S. Geha, K. Ishizaka, T. Ishizaka, A. Kulczycki, R. G. Lynch, J. R. McGhee, H. Metzger, C. Neuport-Sautes, D. M. Segal, R. P. Siraganian, J. C. Unkeless, W. O. Weigle, J. Yodoi

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


Fc receptors (FcR) that are specific for particular immunoglobulin isotypes are designated by Greek letters. Subtypes of receptors are denoted by capital Roman numerals, such as: Fc(γ)RI, II and III: Fc receptors for IgG on macrophages/monocytes and lymphocytes (numerals are in the order of affinity for IgG); Fc(α)R, Fc(μ)R and Fc(δ)R: Fc receptors for IgA, IgM and IgD; Fc(ε)RI: high-affinity receptors for IgE on mast cells and basophils; Fc(ε)RII: low-affinity receptors for IgE on lymphocytes, macrophages, and activated eosinophils. Species are abbreviated as follows: hu (human), mo (mouse), rt (rat), and rb (rabbit). Subunits of receptors are designated by Greek letters α, β, γ and transcripts by a, b, c, etc. Ig-BF describes the soluble molecules having affinity for immunoglobulin.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)449-450
Number of pages2
JournalBulletin of the World Health Organization
Issue number4
StatePublished - 1989
Externally publishedYes

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health


Dive into the research topics of 'Nomenclature of the Fc receptors'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this