Developing specialtywide standards of practice: The experience of ophthalmology

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

12 Scopus citations


In 1986, the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) developed national guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of major eye disease. A core committee of 10 AAO members detailed the framework and goals for the guidelines and wrote a series of broad criteria outlining the ophthalmologist's moral and ethical responsibilities. Several panels of AAO-physician experts were formed to develop guidelines for specific conditions. The panels were formed according to subspecialty and were assigned well-defined issues, such as the diagnosis and management of chronic, adult-onset open-angle glaucome. Process and structure standards were developed first; outcome standards are scheduled for future development. The first five sets of practice guidelines have been approved by the AAO's Governing Council. These include standards for the comprehensive eye exam, as well as four disease-specific guidelines- open-angle glaucoma, glaucoma suspect, diabetic eye disease, and cataract.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)65-70+39
JournalQuality Review Bulletin
Issue number2
StatePublished - 1990

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Leadership and Management


Dive into the research topics of 'Developing specialtywide standards of practice: The experience of ophthalmology'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this